Dawn has started a new blog!

So here I go again… A new blog.
Since losing my computer to the computer gods in December my photography journey has been put on hold. Yes, December. No, we still haven’t purchased a new one. Finances are not allowing for that expense just yet. Work has been slow, we recently moved to a home that we are renovating while living in it. With everything going on and no computer my other blog, D.M. Photography, has fallen to the wayside. At least until I’m able to pick up photography again.
That brings me to this blog, MDPIE. It stands for Motivation, Dedication, Perspiration, Imagination, Education. All the things I’ve needed to get me through to today.
In January I began a new journey; to lose weight. After quitting smoking in September I spent the following months extremely inactive and completely careless with my food choices. Guess what? It showed, and in many ways. While I felt better after becoming an ex-smoker, I also felt lazy, overweight, and bored. I finally made a decision to do something about it. I joined a site called Lose It!, set a weight loss goal, and began tracking my calories. This was the first time I’ve ever done anything like this. I’ll tell you, it’s shocking to see how many calories you’re actually taking in.
The first week I didn’t try to cut calories too much, just tracked them so I could get an idea of where I was. It seemed so easy. All I have to do is eat less! I can do that! I even thought I could eat whatever I wanted as long as I stayed within my calorie budget. Yeah, that mindset didn’t last very long.
Over the course of the last few months I’ve lost 22.5 pounds. I’ve learned a lot about food choices. Shoot, I’m still learning a lot about choices. I love food! Dieting has opened my eyes to different foods. It has gotten my whole family eating more fruits and fresh veggies, whole grains, and trying new foods all the time. Some we love (especially me) and some not so much. I’m not a wife and mother that forces everyone to adopt my diet, but instead I encourage them to just try new things. And I feel it’s definitely working. πŸ™‚
Along with dieting comes the exercise. When I first started this journey I used my daughter’s Wii Fit to exercise, plus some walking and occasional bike rides. While the Wii was fun, and a great way to kick off my new lifestyle changes, I quickly realized I needed to do more. I started researching, downloading apps, using On Demand to do all different types of workouts. So far it has been a great (non)program for me. Most recently I downloaded an app called Workout Trainer, the free version. I’m currently on week 2 of their freebie program. I feel that with less than 10 pounds to my goal weight I need to incorporate some actual scheduled workouts into my weeks. If not, I know I’ll stop short. It’s time for some structure. I am liking the app and I might just go Pro. πŸ™‚ I’ve also just completed week 1 of the Hundred Pushup Program, along with my husband and kids! I’ve fallen in love with tabata style workouts. My preferred place for tabata interval workouts is bexlife.com. So far #7 is my favorite!

My plan is to use this blog to share recipes, ideas, stories, etc. To motivate others to try new things. To share my progress, up and downs, and just about anything I feel like sharing. It is my blog after all! All I ask is that you bear with me. I am doing this 100% from my EVO. My EVO that I cannot help but to hit the period instead of the space button often, which means a LOT of proofreading and editing. I’ll try to correct any errors, but I can’t promise perfection.

Veggies for my 1 egg and 1 egg white omelette.

Leave a Reply

