Tuesday Morning Mess

Happy May everyone!! This is a busy month for us. We have Mother’s Day of course, our daughter’s birthday, our 10 year anniversary, my daughter’s freshman orientation, my son has 2 field trips, and then there’s Memorial Day. And you thought the holidays were bad. 😉 Anywho, I hope this month is good to you, it’s one of my most treasured. Now on with the post!

Now, I don’t claim to be a great cook. In fact, I kind of suck at it, that is unless I have directions or a recipe. I’ve never been able to just throw things together. As I embark on this smoothie making time in my life, I have to try to use my imagination (and Google) to try new combinations of fruits. Take the mango for instance; I don’t particularly like mango. I don’t even enjoy their aroma. Yet I tried one in a smoothie and it was fabulous.
This brings me to today’s Smoothie…
I walked over to the produce place yesterday to purchase some fruits. I wasn’t sure what they had in but I knew I wanted to try something new. Turns out they were almost out of all their fruits. There were a few kiwi, which I don’t like and already have a couple in the fridge for my son, mango, oranges and apples. This wasn’t looking too good. As I’m listening to the man tell me tomorrow (now today) is produce day I’m thinking mango and orange sounds like a tasty combination. I already have a few apples at home and the kiwi, so I purchase one mango and four oranges (I know at least one of the kids will want one, too). Once home I do a little online searching to see if others make smoothies with mangos and oranges and if so, is there a good way to go about the prep. Well, there are tons of recipes using these two beautiful fruits! And it seems prepping the oranges is as simple as peeling and removing seeds! Several recipes instructed me to prep, then freeze the fruits, but I decided against doing that. I had plenty of other thing to do yesterday.
Now here we are, Tuesday morning. I’m getting hungry and I’m ready to get started putting together a flavor that is brand new to me.

Mango and Orange

Doesn’t that look delicious? Another great combination of flavors. Besides the oranges and mango, there is a tiny bit of banana. My daughter wasn’t able to eat the whole thing this morning so I threw that in, too.

Here I’ll list all ingredients, then I’ll tell you what went wrong, what went right and what I’ll do differently next time.

4 ice cubes
2 fresh oranges, peeled and seeds removed
1 mango, pit and skin removed
About 3 tbsp banana
1/2 cup Dannon Oikos nonfat Greek Yogurt, plain
1/2 cup Silk Original Soy milk, light
1 packet Stevia sweetener

Oh boy, now this was an interesting morning. Peeling and removing the seeds is much more work than you’d think. I made a mess of the first orange by peeling it, then trying to dig the seeds out and remove some if the thicker, white, skin stuff. The second orange went much better. I cut it in half, then halved the halves. I was able to easily cut away the stuff I didn’t want. Had this been tangerines, I would have had it right the first time.
Then the mango… I like to call it the massacred mango. I’ve only once before cut up a mango, and I guess I forgot how. Not that I did that great of a job the first time. I did, however, figure it out half way through when I realized how flat the pit was and in which direction it sits inside the fruit. I wish I would have gotten pictures of the sad state I put my fruits in. It was pitiful. Poor things.
The wrongs: the ways my precious fruits were treated.
The rights: I did finally “get it” so next time they will be treated with the care they deserve.
What I would do next time: take the advice of all the recipes out there saying to prep and freeze. These fruits need much more time than bananas and strawberries to get ready for the blender. It would be wise to prepare the night before for a quicker breakfast. All the counter time and handling warms them up, too, so freezing would’ve been a great way to make this an ice cold smoothie. I’d also be sure to remove thick skin and stringy things from all of the orange pieces. It was a little too chunks for my taste.
Flavor wise it was out of this world! I love how they keep getting better the more I try new things. 🙂
I can’t wait for the produce guy to get back with his fresh load. I’m hoping he has something I’ve never had before!
That’s enough rambling this morning, I have work to do! I hope you have an amazing Tuesday!

P.S.
My daughter is now adding zucchini and squash to her salads and even trying to like bell pepper! She wants me to make her salad the same way I make mine. 🙂 She aspires to become a vegetarian when she grows up so she says this is her way of preparing.
I love my kids!

Leave a Reply

