Oh, My Delicious Dinner!

First off, let me apologize for not getting a photo of this insanely easy and tasty meal.
Here’s the story:
We make baked bbq chicken quite often using skinless, boneless chicken breast, breast filets or tenderloins. We love it and it always comes out perfect.
That was last night’s dinner plan.
I’m watching calories and was cutting it close to my daily budget so was just having a big salad and our daughter is working towards a vegetarian diet, so that means there’s going to be extra. (Maybe the boys can handle it?!) She asks if she can have a veggie burger instead, which then leads to my son asking for one, too. Surprisingly, he loves those things! Now this means only one person is having chicken, and I just put 4 breast filets in the baking dish and smothered them in bbq sauce.
Leftovers… We’re not good with leftovers. We almost never eat leftovers. I try to cook just enough food because I know that most leftovers will be wasted.
But it was too late. The dish was already prepared and headed for the oven. I had to think of something. I’m not (yet) a woman that can throw things together and create a wonderful meal for her family. I need directions, a recipe, something. Usually.
Thanks to a recipe I tried very recently, I was actually able to think up (think up? is that really the best I can do? it is right now) a leftover dinner ON MY OWN.
I present to you:

BBQ Chicken Quesadillas

Leftover bbq chicken, cut into very small pieces
6″ corn tortillas, 2 for each quesadilla
Shredded cheese, Mexican blend or your choice (due to availability we used cheddar)
Optional, choose any or all:
Fresh Spinach, chopped tomatoes, chopped bell pepper (I’m thinking red sounds awesome), any fresh veggie that sounds good to you.

When I was putting the chicken into a container last night I made sure to scoop out lots of the bbq sauce so the chicken would still be smothered. This made the quesadillas absolutely delicious

Okay, on to the cooking instructions. I used a flat, square skillet(?). To be sure I have plenty of room to flip the quesadillas I only make one at a time. There’s room for two, but I’d rather be safe than sorry. I’m not a pro.

Heat pan over medium-ish heat.
On a flat surface (I used a large cutting board to prep four at a time) lay out bottom tortilla.
Stack with desired amount of cheese, chicken, and any veggies.
Top with second tortilla.
Spray heated pan with cooking spray.
Using hands, or wide spatula, place quesadilla on heated pan.
Heat until browned and cheese is beginning to melt or melted.
Flip, carefully and quickly. This will be trickier (is trickier a word?) the more you have in it. Hence, the reason I choose to cook one at a time.
Once browned, remove from pan.
Re-spray and repeat for remaining quesadillas. They cook pretty quickly and it gets smoky after a few.

You may want to dip in salsa, sour cream, or guacamole. Maybe all three!

They turned out much better than anticipated. I’m very happy with the results and so is my husband!
The kids, of course, had theirs a little different. Child #1 had cheese quesadillas, and kid #2 likes his with cheese and salsa on the inside.

Each one, depending on your chosen ingredients, is under 300 calories. To keep it low cal, I suggest having a nice side salad with it. We actually had two quesadillas each, plus some homemade tortilla chips as an appetizer.

If you try this recipe I hope you enjoy it! If I left anything out, or you have a question, please feel free to contact me or leave a comment.
Good night!

Leave a Reply

