Not In The Mood to Follow A Workout Video? Create Your Own!

My focus area lately has been thighs and booty. Walking/jogging, stair repeats, squats, etc. have all been added here and there to my workouts. Today I had a plan to do a Bodyrock workout, but just wasn’t feeling it. I did a 30 minute yoga session, then was kind of pacing around, cleaning up, not sure what to do, trying to convince myself to just do the darn workout. It’s been a rainy day so no walking or biking for now. As I was walking through the dining room I kind of randomly lifted my knee like doing  high knees. I had a thought to do some walking high knees. Low impact, that’s good. My knees and shins are not too fond of high impact exercises such as your typical high knees.
I did that a couple of times when I decided to put together my own little set. I thought of 4 leg exercises that I really feel give a good workout, added some upper body movements to up the intensity and created my own 8 minute workout. Since this is an interval type thing, you can choose to do however many sets as you wish. This can be a 4 minute workout, 8 minutes, 12 minutes, or even 16 minutes! You get the idea. 🙂
I thought I’d share it with you, ask for some feedback, and maybe start doing this more often. It was fun and rewarding to create it, and realize it was a good combo!
So here goes:
Set your interval timer for 50/10, 8 rounds. Complete the set two times.
(If you don’t own a timer, but do own an iphone or Droid, you can find free timer apps in the app store.)
1) Walking high knees with alternating hammer fist
2) Alternating forward lunges with biceps curls
3) Sumo side lifts
4) Backward lunge with overhead press
* This workout can be modified to be less or more intense, and higher or lower impact depending on your ability and level.
* Adding hand weights to numbers 1, 2, and 4 and a sandbag to number 3 will intensify this workout.
** Disclaimer: I am NOT a certified trainer nor do I claim to be. Doing this workout in no way holds me liable for anything. I am merely a mama learning her way in fitness and food.

Leave a Reply

