Stay Hydrated To Stay Healthy, my new mantra this week.

I don’t know about you, but I have an incredibly hard time consuming even the recommended 64 ounces of water per day, let alone the extra I should be drinking. I have a big 34 ounce cup that I fill with ice water everyday and sometimes I don’t even get that down. For me, not only have I needed to learn to drink water instead of sweet tea all day, I also have to learn to drink enough water. I’ve never been one to consume lots of liquids. So it has been a challenge; drink more water AND drink more period.

Today I’m claiming this week to be:

“Stay Hydrated To Stay Healthy Week”

image

We all know how important water is to our bodies. It’s beneficial to our skin, hair, internal organs, digestion, and weight loss. Want to learn more? Do a simple internet search using keywords such as “benefits of drinking water”. You’ll most likely be surprised, there’s a lot more to it than you might realize.

I would like to encourage everyone to write down this week’s mantra and stick it to the fridge! Think before you drink! Opt for water instead of sweetened, unhealthy beverages. It might be hard at first, but you will get used to it and come to enjoy the the refreshing taste of water more than that soda, juice or tea.
I’d also like to encourage everyone to spread the word to drink more water this week. Post to your Facebook, blog, tell a friend, share on Twitter! We can all benefit from this message.

*Tips:
Search online for a tool that let’s you input some information and gives you a good idea of the amount of water you should consume daily.
Download a water tracking app to your iphone, Droid, tablet or iPad to help you keep track and to help you see if you’re really consuming as much as you thought. I know sometimes we think we are doing enough of something until we break it down and record it.
**Question:
What tips do you have for me, or others like me, who have a hard time drinking as much water as we should? Please, share your answers with us in the comments so we can all learn a thing or two!

P.S.
A Lose It! friend shared this link with me. It’s a short quiz to help you determine how much water you need each day.
http://nutrition.about.com/library/blwatercalculator.htm

One thought on “Stay Hydrated To Stay Healthy, my new mantra this week.

  1. Great post. I never had been one to drink much either and what I do drink can`t necessarily be considered healthy. I printed this out and taped it above my sink.

Leave a Reply

