Fitness Friday! & Hydration

If you’re following, you know that I declared this week Stay Hydrated To Stay Healthy week. I haven’t been very happy with my progress. Why is it so hard to remember to drink water?! I have no idea, but with some “outside” help I believe I may have found a way.
I was thinking and thinking, brainstorming. Trying to figure out a way to remind myself to drink.
1) I could set an alarm (or several alarms)
2) I could write it down and post it EVERYWHERE
3) I could go and try a water app again (last time it didn’t work. Taking a sip every hour didn’t work out.)
Hmm…
**I can probably down about 4 ounces comfortably at one time. What if I drank 4 ounces every half hour that I’m awake? No. Well, how about 4 ounces every half hour from 8am-10pm? That’s 14 hours, 112 ounces. That would be perfect! Now, to find a way to remind myself every 30 minutes… I need an app that sends notifications in 30 minute intervals.**
The search began. It didn’t take long before I found a nifty little reminders app. The repeat option doesn’t have every 30 minutes, but it does have every hour. Not a problem with this app, I just set 2 reminders half hour apart and set them to remind every hour. The best feature for what I’m trying to do is the option to set “quiet hours”. This allows me to use these hourly reminders without it sounding between 10pm and 8am.
Today is day one using this system and so far it has been great! I used a measuring cup and filled it to 4 ounces. Then I found the smallest glass we have, a wine glass, and filled that with the water. Now I can eyeball the amount once I pour in the water.  I keep a large insulated cup filled with ice water in the fridge, and every 30 minutes I pour 4 ounces into the glass. Brilliant!

image

Hey! It’s Fitness Friday! I’ve been doing really well this week. I’ve exercised every day and have even been getting my yoga on. 🙂 I’ve been mixing things up doing a little BodyRock, a little ZWOW, putting exercises together from different routines to create my own. It has been fun! And let’s not forget biking, walking and incorporating jogging intervals again. Yay!
I have to give props to the ZWOW workout I’ve done this week. I attempted #18, and was unable to complete all 5 rounds. It sure did have me sweaty! Today I attempted it once again with fabulous results! I took a short break in between each round and modified when and where necessary. I completed 5 rounds while also upping the reps on certain parts each time. Woo woo!
Mega burn, mega sweat, mega awesomeness!

Q: What new ways have you found to make sure you are consuming enough water?
Q: Have you tried any new workouts lately? What were they?! I’d love to hear about them!

I hope you all have an amazing weekend!

Leave a Reply

