Nothing but Raw, Fresh (fruits and veggies)

I decided I was only going to consume raw, fresh fruits and veggies today. Yes, that’s right, only raw fruits and veggies.Β  Other than my two cups of coffee with almond milk and stevia, my one cup of Badia Natural Herbs tea with 1tsp honey and my 4oz of water every half hour, that’s exactly what I’ve done.
For breakfast, along with the coffee, I ate a red grapefruit. That’s it. I don’t have a big appetite in the morning.
I was thinking of having a smoothie for lunch. Except this would have to differ from my usual standard recipes, meaning no soy/almond milk and no Greek yogurt. I thought about it and chose OJ as my substitute. Add in banana, strawberry and peach and it sounded pretty darn good! And guess what? It was!

image

Perfect!

image

My son liked the smoothie drip and snapped this photo.

Recipe:
1 cup OJ
1cup sliced banana, partially frozen
1 cup sliced strawberries, frozen
1 peach with skin, cut into small pieces

Place oj and banana in blender, blend.
Add strawberries, blend.
Add peach pieces, blend.
Viola!

So that was lunch…
Here’s dinner. I like to call these Salad Wraps (my husband says Salad Rolls). Eating raw and fresh means no dressing on my salad, which meant it sounded extremely boring. I needed to get creative. This is what I came up with:

image

Dawn's Salad Wraps, pre-wrapped

image

Let’s wrap up all the salad ingredients into a large romaine leaf! Fun!

Recipe:
2 romaine leaves, rinsed thoroughly and patted dry
1/3 cup sliced/ chopped carrots (1 medium carrot)
1/4 chopped cucumber
5 slices zucchini, chopped
2 tbs diced tomatoes
2 tbs diced bell pepper (I had green)

Wrap all veggies in romaine leaves.

A fun new way to have salad!

Snacks have consisted of bananas, cantaloupe, and pineapple. I’m feeling pretty good. I’ve resisted every temptation today! I might even do it again tomorrow! Well, until dinner. I might eat dinner. We’re having One Dish Chicken and Rice. It’s a new recipe and I want to try it. πŸ™‚

On a short little fitness note, my husband surprised me last night with a weighted hula hoop. Yay! I’ve been wanting one ever since I first heard of them. I always loved hula hooping, now I get to hoop, tone muscles, and burn extra calories! Win win win!

7 thoughts on “Nothing but Raw, Fresh (fruits and veggies)

    • At the end of the day, you could say the trash was still being taken out, so it was, well, ya know. But this morning I feel great! I definitely think I’ll make it a point to do this periodically. Not let myself get to feeling so “dirty” and make it a monthly or bi-monthly thing.

      • I think that’s an interesting idea. We eat a lot of those things already, but not necessarily raw and I think a periodic raw day sounds like a great pick me up.

  1. Sounds so healthy but I don`t think I could do a whole day raw and feel satisfied, but I haven`t tried it so I don`t know. It would sure cut down on the dishes at supper time!

    • Oh my gosh, lol, no way! I do eat raw and fresh fruit and veggies for a large part of my diet, but could never live on that alone. πŸ˜› I love food too much!

Leave a Reply

