Just call meet Slacker Blogger plus Dinner is Cooking- Slow Cooker Chicken & Veggies

image

Slow Cooker Chicken & Vegetables (Part 1)

I choose to not look back and see how long it has been since I last posted. I already know it has been too long. Life is busy, kids are on summer vacation, I’m on a health and fitness mission, we’re remodeling this house… If I wanted to get in depth, the list could probably go on forever. I’ll spare you the ramblings of our life. You’re welcome!
I’m posting today to share my creation for dinner tonight. Hopefully it turns out delicious and I receive no complaints from the peanut gallery. I am not following a recipe here, just a few tips I’ve grabbed from around the web. I know there are a lot of you who may think this is no big accomplishment; whipping up something simple in the slow cooker is easy peasy. For people like me though, cooking without instructions is a HUGE deal. ๐Ÿ˜› So here it is. I had just over a pound and a half of bl/sl chicken breasts that really seemed to want to be part of a slow cooker dinner. That’s where it started. Next was a quick scan of the fridge, particularly the veggie drawer, where I find that I have several yummy add-ins. I choose not to use broth in my soups and stews to keep our sodium intake under control. My beautiful big sister taught me that you don’t need broth to make soup, just water, seasoning and creativity. ๐Ÿ™‚ Browsing the web for ideas, I found a suggestion to brown the chicken before adding it to the cooker. I love this idea because my husband cannot stand to eat an onion so this allows me to lock in some onion powder flavor. A little garlic powder and Italian seasoning to really make it complete. I also cut a little green bell pepper to saute with the chicken. (Nothing beats the flavor of sauteed bell peppers.) I cut up some carrots and celery, placed them in the slow cooker. Added the chicken and peppers. Next I added 4 cups of water. The following step is either going to make this amazing, or weird. I squeezed half of a lemon (partially) and half of a lime into the water. Now this is set to low to cook all day. Later I will be adding sliced zucchini and sliced yellow squash. I will also be making brown rice for the first time to serve with it. I’m still deciding if I’m going to attempt to add it to the slow cooker or just cook it on the stove. I think that will depend upon the consistency the chicken and veggies have in a few hours.
**Fitness Time** I have completed 2 weeks of BodyRock.tv’s February Challenge. Today I re-take the fit test to see if I’ve improved. Wish me luck! *Question Center* Add the brown rice or cook it separately… What’s your opinion?

*UPDATE*
I decided to cook the rice on the stove, then mix it in with the chicken and veggies before serving. It turned out delicious!

Leave a Reply

