Yellow Watermelon (yes, it’s actually yellow), and a little fitness and diet update

This is just going to be a quick little post. I purchased a yellow watermelon from my locally owned produce and discount grocery store. I LOVE this store. I have tried so many new things since I started shopping there, and the owners are super nice. That’s always a plus. 🙂 So I basically try to purchase as much as I can from there to shorten my list and reduce my costs from the big chain grocery store.
Yesterday I brought home a yellow watermelon!

image

Yellow Watermelon

For those who have never heard of such a thing (I hadn’t until they brought them in a couple weeks ago), they taste pretty much the same as a red watermelon. I didn’t notice any difference in texture, either. It seems to me it’s all about hype with this unusually colored fruit. But hype is cool, and everyone loved seeing it was actually yellow! We are now stocked up on yellow watermelon…

image

Does it look like I'm a watermelon hoarder?

**Fitness Update:
     I have one day left of the BodyRock February Challenge, and it’s my final fit test. I can’t wait to see my scores! I feel so much stronger, and proud that I actually committed and completed a full month’s program! My weight hasn’t really changed, but I’m pretty sure my snacking choices and inability to limit myself are to blame for that. It’s a work in progress.

**Diet Related:
     We have started implementing rules for choosing breakfast cereals. It’s actually a little test I learned from another site. There’s three requirements a cereal must meet to be considered; first ingredient must be whole grain, it must have at least 4g fiber, and no sugar (or other forms of sugar) listed in the first three ingredients. We’ve done well so far. Our first trip to buy cereal was a huge success. My son was very avid about following the rules. He checked every label and ultimately made a great choice which led him to trying something new, something that he liked, too. My daughter made an excellent choice and picked shredded wheat. Other than the fact that it’s one of the healthier choices by far, it’s a cereal that you can add your own flavor to. A little chocolate, a little honey, some fresh fruit, or even just a little sugar. The possibilities really are endless.
So we’ve made a deal: if everyone keeps their meals as healthy as possible, I’ll give a little on the not-so-healthy snacks. The balance has worked out nicely. 🙂

*Question*
1) How is your fitness coming along? Have you tried anything new lately? As I’m coming to the end of this challenge I’d love to hear of some new ideas. 

2) What things do you do to keep the household happy in the food department? Are there special rules for certain foods or meals? I’m sure we’d all love to have a few more tricks up our sleeves for getting the kids and spouses eating better.

One thought on “Yellow Watermelon (yes, it’s actually yellow), and a little fitness and diet update

Leave a Reply

