DIY Taco Bowls and One Week with NO Flour or Dairy

In my house when we have taco night, I usually make homemade corn tortilla chips for myself and have a taco salad. I try to stay away from flour tortillas due to the calorie and sodium count. Yesterday, while I was on Facebook I came across a shared photo in my news feed of DIY taco bowls. This was perfect since we had tacos planned for last night! There were no instructions with it; temp, time, ect., so I decided to use my chips as a baseline for the recipe. They turned out great, and fun!

image

Using an upside-down muffin tin you create the bowls. How neat is that?!
I baked mine at 400* for 10 minutes after I sprayed them with spray butter. With the fillings I chose, each bowl is only 236 calories, and one bowl is plenty if you pair it with a side dish, such as Spanish rice.
Here’s what’s in mine:
2 tbs refried beans in the bottom
2 oz lean ground beef (I make my taco meat with Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime blend and a little chili powder)
1/2 cup shredded lettuce
1/4 cup chopped tomato
1 tbs plain nonfat Greek yogurt
1 tbs salsa
Yum!! The bowl was overflowing with my mixture and I just love that. These are super easy, super tasty, and super fun!

No Flour and No Dairy for 1 Week
    This challenge I’m doing with a friend. The same friend, in fact, that I BodyRock with long distance. Starting today, for an entire week, we will avoid all foods with flour AND all dairy products. Why? To eliminate the processed foods that are flour and dairy products.
Already on day 1 this is a challenge for us both. She is attending a cookout sure to have burgers and buns galore. In my house we have a visitor; our daughter’s best friend from out of state. We’ve tried planning meals as much as possible for her stay. On the menu for tonight? My husband’s super delicious English muffin pizzas. I’ve been racking my brain to think of some way to still enjoy a dinner that’s pizza-esque. I really don’t want to resort to eating a salad for dinner. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good salad. Tonight though, they’re having yummy little pizzas, and I want some too! My brain racking paid off as I tried to imagine what would work under the sauce and toppings… Rice cakes! Oh yeah!
Wait, as I’m typing this I realize something. Something pretty important, too. Cheese goes on pizza, cheese is dairy… I forgot about the cheese. Thinking cap back on!

4 thoughts on “DIY Taco Bowls and One Week with NO Flour or Dairy

  1. Awesome, thanks for sharing this! I will throw this out there…vegan cheese.
    I’m a vegetarian for the last 15 years, and tested the waters with being vegan (couldn’t last two days)-I’m personally not a fan of vegan cheese, but if you’re staying away from dairy, it may be worth a try! Or just pile on enough yummy toppings you don’t notice the lack of cheese!

  2. I have been doing the Whole30, which is no dairy, grains, gluten, alcohol or sugar.. it has been a challenge, but I think ultimately worth it.. after tomorrow it will be one week 😮

Leave a Reply

