I Made My Own BBQ Sauce!

Here’s how it happened:
I knew we were having chicken breasts for dinner, but I didn’t have the slightest idea how to prepare them. As I was sitting down at the dining room table yesterday morning, sipping my coffee, my brain was cycling through my mental rolodex of chicken ideas. When it flipped to slow cooked bbq chicken I was stuck. I couldn’t get past that one, it sounded so delicious. (We LOVE bbq around here.) The last time I made it I happened to have a bottle of Annie’s Organic Hot Chipotle BBQ sauce and it was perfect for the slow cooked recipe. Yesterday though, I didn’t have any sauce. Not even the house favorite, Sweet Baby Rays.
I remembered that my awesome, super local (walking distance), discount grocery store (DWP Discount Food and Produce) had a couple of big bottles of Sweet Baby Rays the last time I was there. Following that memory was the memory that I didn’t have any money. I was thinking I could probably scrounge up enough change and run over there real quick. (I really, REALLY wanted bbq chicken.)
That’s when I had a light bulb moment. One that I’m very proud of. One that shows how far I’ve come since I decided to start cooking real food.
I could make my own! I knew it could be easy, as long as you have a few basic ingredients; ketchup, vinegar, sugar; of which I have all. 🙂
Next was a simple Google search. Keywords: easy bbq sauce.
Oh yes, I could definitely do this! I even have apple cider vinegar, which I found to be called for in several recipes. I found a few that were up my alley, but one that the basics were just right. Cider vinegar, ketchup, water, sugar, salt. As per the usual, I scanned through the comments to get ideas of other add-ins or substitutions. Some noted using brown sugar instead of white sugar, which made sense to me considering this was a molasses-free recipe, and guess what? I have light brown sugar! Another mentioned adding honey, while a couple added crushed red pepper flakes and even chili powder. I must say that all of these ideas were sounding great to go together. I love a sweet and spicy sauce. Of course there were other suggestions, but of ingredients I don’t have on hand, like worstershire (sp) sauce.
I made a 24 serving recipe, which was about 3 cups total, since I needed enough for the chicken in the slow cooker, and maybe extra for serving. The flavor turned out amazing. I had each kid do a little finger dip taste test and they were pleased.

image

Easy BBQ Sauce

Frozen chicken breasts placed in the slow cooker, poured in about 3/4 of the sauce and let it cook about 8 hours. Then I shredded the chicken, returned it to the cooker with the sauce, and let it cook while we waited for the sides to finish.
It wash delicious and definitely hit the spot!  Everyone loved it! (We didn’t need the extra sauce. It was perfect.) I served it with brown rice and a Normandy blend of vegetables. My son and husband put the chicken on whole wheat bread and made a sandwich.

Here’s the recipe:
1/2 cup organic apple cider vinegar
1 cup ketchup
1 cup water
6 tbs light brown sugar
2 tsp sea salt
2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1/2-1 tsp honey

Whisk all ingredients together. 

*For a 12 serving batch, cut all ingredients by half.

** After using the desired amount in the slow cooker, I put the extra in the refrigerator, in a sealed container. Tasting it later, the vinegar seemed to be more pronounced than before refrigeration. I’m still a novice in the kitchen so I have no idea why this happened. It did not happen during the cooking process, though.
If anyone has any insight on this I would greatly appreciate the lesson. 🙂

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

