Back-to-School Peanut Butter Banana Breakfast Bars

Why buy prepackaged bars when you can make these?! This is a super easy, super fun, and super tasty recipe.
My daughter starts high school this year and I’ve been looking for ideas to help ensure she gets some nutrition in the morning. I understand how hard it can be to eat so early. I wanted something she could grab on her way out the door and eat when she was ready (probably on the bus).
After browsing lots of recipe sites, and coming across Udi’s Granola at the local discount foods store, I put this recipe together to test out before school starts next month.
This one is definitely a winner! May I present you with:

image

Peanut Butter Banana Breakfast Bars

Ingredients:
1 package Udi’s Natural Artisan Granola (I used Hawaiian)**
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla (optional)
1 tsp honey (optional)
pinch of cinnamon (optional)

Set oven to 350*F.
Remove nuts and fruit from granola mix and crush/ chop, return to granola.
Mix peanut butter and mashed bananas until well blended and paste-like.
Add remaining ingredients and mix well.
Spray muffin tin (12) with non stick cooking spray. Fill each cup with mixture.
Bake for 18 minutes.
Cool completely, then wrap individually in plastic wrap. Keeps in refrigerator for about a week.

** You can create your own mixture with oats, dried fruits, and crushed nuts. Just make the mixture amount to 3 cups. I’d use at least one cup of oats, but I’d prefer more oats to fruit/nuts.

If you make these let me know with a comment! I’d love to hear others’ additions and substitutions!

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

