Orange Smoothie? No, not the fruit. The color!

image

Orange Smoothie

I was feeling a little adventurous yesterday after my workouts and decided to create a new and healthy smoothie. I’ve been making a banana oatmeal smoothie for my husband pretty regularly, but haven’t had one myself in quite some time. I’ve really been enjoying actually eating my food rather than drinking it. My new favorites are oatmeal (with different fruit additions) for breakfast and either fruit and veggie salad or a fruit and veggie plate with a boiled egg.
Yesterday, however, I was thinking yummy smoothie. I call it Pineapple Oatmeal Banana Smoothie. You may be wondering why orange isn’t in the name. I completely understand, I was wondering the same thing! Here’s what I came up with: people will automatically assume there’s an orange in the recipe, and it’ll be fun when I make it for someone and they get the surprise of it being orange!
Now, the first sip was something new. I’d never had this mixture before so it was a little shock to the taste buds. The flavor was good, just unique at first. After a few more sips it was totally delicious! My taste buds have learned to adapt pretty quickly these days, I think. R
Curious about what is in this orange without an orange smoothie? Let me fill you in…

Ingredients:
6 ounces pineapple juice
2/3 cup frozen banana slices
1/4 cup oats
1/2 cup sliced CARROT!

Yep, that’s it! Of course you can thicken it up with some non fat Greek yogurt and make it more filling. I was trying to go for a dairy free lunch. I’ll admit it didn’t keep me full for long. I would probably add spinach (I’m completely out), maybe some berries (was out of those, too) to give it more substance for a meal replacement. As is, it’s a tasty and healthy snack or dessert smoothie.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

